Sarah Godlewski
Press Release

21 Wisconsin Leaders Endorse Sarah Godlewski for U.S. Senate

Coming on heels of pivotal EMILY’S List endorsement, strong support from communities across the state demonstrates Sarah is building the strongest coalition to defeat Ron Johnson

By - Jul 8th, 2021 11:30 am

Today, State Treasurer and candidate for Senate Sarah Godlewski announced new endorsements from 21 current and former elected officials and prominent leaders from across Wisconsin.

The leaders hail from Superior to Janesville, spanning Milwaukee, Winnebago County, the Madison area, Sheboygan, De Pere and more. The deep and diverse support is yet another sign that Sarah is the only candidate who can build a 72-county campaign to go toe-to-toe with Ron Johnson and win.

In recent weeks, the campaign has also earned the support from 16 western Wisconsin leaders and a major endorsement from EMILY’s List – an early and important backer in both of Tammy Baldwin‘s Senate campaigns. In total, Sarah has now earned endorsements from 39 Wisconsin current and former elected officials and community leaders.

“I’m honored to have the endorsements from community leaders from all across Wisconsin,” said State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski. “Ron Johnson has spent a decade dividing our state for his own political gain, while leaving workers and families behind. With strong grassroots support spanning from our biggest counties to our smallest communities, we’re building a statewide campaign that can win and restore Wisconsinites’ voice in Washington.”

The 21 new endorsements for Sarah’s campaign for Senate include:

Former CEO of the Democratic National Convention Host Committee Raquel Filmanowicz

Brown Deer Trustee Emily Siegrist

Calumet County Supervisor Emily Voight-Cone

Dane County Board Supervisor Maureen McCarville

Dane County community leader Fatou Ceesay

Dane County entrepreneur and activist Masood Akhtar

De Pere Common Council Member and former candidate for State Senate District 30 Jonathon Hansen

Janesville State Representative for District 44 Sue Conley

Janesville former State Representative for District 44 Debra Kolste

Milwaukee State Representative for District 8 and Milwaukee County Board Supervisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez

Milwaukee County Board Supervisor Liz Sumner

Milwaukee-area State Representative for District 20 Chris Sinicki

Monona City Council Member Molly Grupe

Monona Grove School Board President Loreen Gage

Sheboygan County Board Supervisor Rebecca Clarke

Sheboygan Town Board Member Alexandra Nugent

Shorewood former Village Trustee Jessica Carpenter

Superior City Council Member Jenny Van Sickle

Winnebago County former Board Supervisor and Neenah former Common Council Member Stephanie Spellman

Verona City Council Member Kate Cronin

Verona former City Council Member Katie Kohl

Recent Press Releases by Sarah Godlewski

Sarah Godlewski Releases Statement After Supreme Court Decision to Overturn Roe v. Wade is Leaked

POLITICO: “The draft opinion is a full-throated, unflinching repudiation of the 1973 decision which guaranteed federal constitutional protections of abortion rights”

Sarah Godlewski: Democrats Must Get Off the Sidelines and Protect Abortion Rights

As antiabortion groups push for nationwide abortion bans at six weeks, Godlewski challenges Democrats to do more

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us