Cedarburg Cultural Center
Press Release

Little Art Winning Big in Cedarburg “Little Show” Exhibit Winners Announced


By - Dec 13th, 2019 11:58 am

CEDARBURG, WI (December 13, 2019) -The Cedarburg Cultural Center is proud to announce the winners of its Annual Juried Exhibit and Sale, “The Little Show,” which runs through Sunday, Jan. 19, 2020.

Featuring 27 Southeast Wisconsin artists and 135 original works of art, participating artists were asked to submit artworks in the spirit of miniatures, using a set of maximum size restrictions.

The special exhibit size requirements for featured artworks were:
2D works may not exceed 36 square inches (for example, 6″ x 6″ or 5″ x 7″).
3D works may not exceed 9 inches in any dimension including the base.

Award winners were announced Wednesday night, December 11 at a public opening reception and awards ceremony. Awards were presented for Best of Show, Second and Third Place with six Honorable Mentions recognized.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

The Best of Show award, featuring a cash prize of $300 and an invitation for a future solo show in one of the CCC’s galleries, was presented to Betty Rubner for her oil and cold wax paintings.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

The Second Place award, featuring a cash prize of $200, was earned by Patricia Bertha-Mattingly for her oil on linen paintings.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

Photo courtesy of the Cedarburg Cultural Center.

The Third Place award, featuring a cash prize of $100, was given to Clarey Wamhoff for her acrylic paintings.

Recognized as Honorable Mentions were: Paula DeStefanis, Pam Eader, Harold Hansen, Christine McGovern, Mary Ellen Mueller and Michael Sturm.

Other artists featured in the exhibit and showcasing various media and styles are:

Linda Boehlke, Cherie Burbach, Patrick Doughman, Joyce Eesley, Kristy Goggio, Bruce Hustad, Daniel Ingebrigtson, Jan Jahnke, Terri Lockwood, Meinhard Loppnow, William Millonig, Valerie Pawlak, Deb Rolfs, Barb Rossi, Alice Struck, Kathleen Irons Sweeney, Rhoda Tews, Michelle Savas Thompson and Helen Waldschmidt.

Participating artists and award winners were selected by juror Dr. Gaylund K. Stone. Originally from Willoughby, Ohio, Stone has been at Concordia University since 1991. He served as Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences from 1998 to 2015 and is currently Chair of the Art Department and Program Director for the Graduate Program in Art Education. He received his Ph.D. in Urban Education from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee with a specialization in Art Education and a minor in Philosophy. He holds an M.Ed. degree in Art Education from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and an A.B. in Art and Archaeology from Princeton University. His primary studio interest is painting in both oils and acrylics. His research interests center on the relationships between artistic behaviors and cognitive processes and his studio areas include drawing and stained glass in addition to painting. Additionally, he teaches courses in art history, aesthetics, and art education.

The exhibit and sale continue through Sunday, Jan. 19, 2020 in the CCC’s Columbia St. Mary’s and East Galleries, alongside the “Blizzard of Art” in the corridor gallery and the Cedarburg Artists Guild’s (CAG) Main Street Gallery. An annual tradition, the “Blizzard of Art” is a collaborative holiday exhibit between the CCC and CAG with many pieces priced below $200. Artworks in both exhibits are being sold “cash and carry,” with artwork available to take home the same day as purchased.

Located in the heart of historic downtown Cedarburg, the Cedarburg Cultural Center has been the cultural hub of the community for 33 years. We are the Center for Art, Music and History in Ozaukee County. We provide a gathering place to celebrate community, the arts, and local heritage. A free gallery with frequently changing exhibits surrounds the Center’s performance space, which features music, theatre, comedy and educational presentations. Our classrooms, galleries, and restrooms are wheelchair accessible. The Cedarburg Cultural Center is free and open to the public Tuesday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and noon to 4 p.m. on Sundays.

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. It has not been verified for its accuracy or completeness.

Recent Press Releases by Cedarburg Cultural Center

Karen Brusubardis-Williams February Artist-in-Residence at Cedarburg Cultural Center

Her "Particle Landscape" paintings have an unmistakable and immediately recognizable style. "They exist at the intersection of memory and imagination"-Williams-Brusbardis.

Mary Boettcher, January Artist-in-Residence at Cedarburg Cultural Center

Artist offers workshop intended as an opportunity for individuals or family members to come together for a day of artistry.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us