Compact Implementation Coalition
Press Release

Groups React as States and Provinces Commit to Reconvene in May to Continue Debate on Precedent-Setting Great Lakes Water Diversion

It is critical that any diversion proposal meet the rigorous requirements of the Compact which were developed to safeguard the Great Lakes.

By - Apr 22nd, 2016 02:00 pm

“We commend the Regional Body for taking time to thoroughly review Waukesha’s precedent setting diversion request. The request is the first test of the Great Lakes Compact and must be given careful consideration.

We are not opposed to diversions as allowed under the Great Lakes Compact. However, it is critical that any diversion proposal meet the rigorous requirements of the Compact which were developed to safeguard the Great Lakes. We appreciate that the Regional Body is carefully weighing Waukesha’s proposal against the Compact’s requirements.”

Background
Waukesha, Wisconsin’s application to divert water from Lake Michigan is the first test of the Great Lakes Compact, a regional pact banning the diversion of Great Lakes water outside the basin, with limited exceptions.

Under the Great Lakes Compact, any diversion application must be approved by all eight Great Lakes states. The two Canadian provinces bordering the lakes, Ontario and Quebec, are allowed to provide input. Any state may veto the diversion application.

The Great Lakes-St. Lawrence River Water Resources Regional Body includes representatives from each of the jurisdictions, including the states and provinces. At the regional level, the Regional Body is the first step in the decision making process of any diversion request and makes a recommendation to the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence River Water Resources Compact Council. The Compact Council, which consists of only the governors of the eight Great Lakes states, will meet in the coming months to review the Regional Body’s recommendation and make a final decision on Waukesha’s request.

For more information, contact:
Regional
Jennifer Caddick, Alliance for the Great Lakes, jcaddick@greatlakes.org, (312) 445-9760
Marc Smith, National Wildlife Federation, msmith@nwf.org, (734) 887-7116
Margie Kelly, Natural Resources Defense Council, mkelly@nrdc.org, 312-651-7935
Indiana
Cathy Martin, Save the Dunes, 219-879-3564 x 126, cathy@savedunes.org
Michigan
Jennifer McKay, Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council, (231) 347-1181, jenniferm@watershedcouncil.org
Minnesota
Louise Segroves, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy, lsegroves@mncenter.org, (651) 287-4872
New York
Travis Proulx, Environmental Advocates of New York, tproulx@eany.org, 518-462-5526 ext. 238
Ohio
Kristy Meyer, Ohio Environmental Council, kmeyer@theoec.org, (614) 487-5842
Wisconsin
Ezra Meyer, Clean Wisconsin, emeyer@cleanwisconsin.org, 608-843-3972
Jodi Habush Sinykin, Midwest Environmental Advocates, hslaw@bizwi.rr.com, 414-507-0004
Jennifer Bolger Breceda, Milwaukee Riverkeeper, jennifer@milwaukeeriverkeeper.org, 414-430-6446
Denny Canneff, River Alliance of Wisconsin, dcaneff@wisconsinrivers.org, 608-257-2424 x 115
Laurie Longtine, Waukesha County Environmental Action League, longtine@wi.rr.com, 262-894-8443
Peter McAvoy, Wisconsin Compact Implementation Coalition, pmcavoy11@gmail.com, (414) 426-0084
George Meyer, Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, georgemeyer@tds.net, 608-516-5545

Recent Press Releases by Compact Implementation Coalition

Racine Diversion Request Raises Serious Questions; Compact Coalition Urges Regional Review

The purpose of the diversion is to provide Great Lakes water to Foxconn Technology Group, a private, large multinational electronics manufacturer, for its first U.S. manufacturing plant.

Great Lakes Leaders Approve Waukesha Water Diversion

Wisconsin environmental groups' concerns remain; modified diversion plan will require vigilance

Groups Ask Wisconsin to Clarify its Authority to Regulate a Waukesha Diversion

An opinion by the Wisconsin Attorney General casts doubt on the state’s authority to manage, regulate, and enforce conditions the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence River Water Resources Compact Council may require when approving a diversion.

One thought on “Groups React as States and Provinces Commit to Reconvene in May to Continue Debate on Precedent-Setting Great Lakes Water Diversion”

  1. Thomas says:

    Dear Governors, Premiers, and other officials considering the Waukesha Diversion,

    Please consider possible future consequences during consideration of this request. Remember, if you will, what a great idea it was for commerce to connect the Atlantic Ocean with the Great Lakes via the St.. Lawrence Seaway, and reflect on the damage done to the Great lakes as a consequence of that endeavor: invasive species …

    Thank you,

    Thomas

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us