Milwaukee Common Council
Press Release

Congratulations Colectivo workers

Joint statement from members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Alderman Cavalier Johnson, Alderman Nik Kovac, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman José G. Pérez and Alderman Scott Spiker

By - Aug 25th, 2021 01:10 pm

We want to send our sincere congratulations to the workers of Colectivo Coffee who have successfully won their vote to form a union, making them the largest unionized café chain in the country.

We believe the owners of Colectivo will bargain in good faith, and that this will lead to higher wages, better benefits, and safe working conditions for all of Colectivo’s employees.

Our service-sector employees deserve proper representation and the best possible working conditions, and hopefully this can serve as inspiration and a model for those in our city, state and across the country.

More about the Union Effort at Colectivo

Read more about Union Effort at Colectivo here

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Common Council

Congratulations Bucks!

Joint statement from members of the Milwaukee Common Council

Enough is enough with MHD lead program mistakes

Joint statement from members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, Alderman Cavalier Johnson, Alderman José G. Pérez, and Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa

Reckless driving behavior continues to be a detriment to our community

Joint statement from members of the Common Council – Alderwoman Chantia Lewis, Alderwoman Nikiya Dodd, Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderman Khalif J. Rainey, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Nik Kovac, Alderman Mark Borkowski and Alderman José G. Pérez

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us