Wisconsin Working Families Party
Press Release

Wisconsin Working Families Party Continues Political Revolution With New Endorsements

After propelling State Sen. Chris Larson to a surprise win against County Exec. Abele, Wisconsin WFP works to establish progressive voting bloc in Milwaukee

By - Mar 2nd, 2016 01:35 pm

Milwaukee – The Wisconsin Working Families Party (WFP) announced its second wave of endorsements for the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors and the Milwaukee Common Council, citing their commitment to advancing progressive policies and championing the interests of working families. The endorsements, which include both incumbents and new candidates, come just weeks after Wisconsin WFP candidates won a string of incredible victories in the first round of primaries.

Endorsed candidates include Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors Jason Haas (14th District), Theodore Lipscomb, Sr. (1st District) and John Weishan (16th District), as well as Milwaukee Common Council Alderman Tony Zielinski (12th District), candidate Justin Bielinski (8th District), and candidate Chantia Lewis (9th District).

“The WFP is backing a slate of new progressive candidates in Milwaukee, while standing behind the progressive champions who have been fighting for working families all along,” said Eyon Biddle, Deputy Director of the Wisconsin WFP. “When an elected leader is endorsed by the WFP, it means they have a proven track record of fighting for progressive policies that lift up working families. Together with our current slate of candidates they’re going to fight for a Milwaukee that works for everyone, not just the wealthy and well-connected.”

The candidates were selected after a screening process where candidates demonstrated their viability and track record of fighting for progressive causes.

On January 11th the Wisconsin WFP endorsed a slate of non-incumbent candidates in Milwaukee, all of whom prevailed in the initial primary vote on February 16th.  WFP champion and State Senator Chris Larson won a surprise victory against County Executive Chris Abele despite being massively outspent, which prompted the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel to name the WFP a “winner” in the primary race. Larson and Abele will face each other again in a runoff in April.

The current WFP slate includes:

Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Candidate Martha De La Rosa (18th District)

County Supervisor Joseph Haas (14th District)

County Supervisor Theodore Lipscomb, Sr. (1st District)

Candidate Marcelia Nicholson (5th District)

Candidate Sequanna Taylor (2nd District)

County Supervisor John Weishan (16th District)

Milwaukee Common Council

Candidate Justin Belinski (8th District)

Candidate Chevy Johnson (2nd District)

Candidate Chantia Lewis (9th District)

Candidate Khalif Rainey (7th District)

Alderman Tony Zielinski (12th District)

 The Wisconsin WFP is an independent political organization founded in 2015 to elect progressive champions and advance progressive policies. 

Recent Press Releases by Wisconsin Working Families Party

Wisconsin Working Families Party

Elevating the Next Governor of Wisconsin; Wisconsin’s Choice Campaign Narrows Field to Nine Candidates in Endorsement Process

Thousands vote in poll to find people’s champion to challenge Scott Walker and win

“Money Isn’t Everything” — Working Families Party Candidates Win Big in Milwaukee; Racine Elections

Winning Shea campaign outspent by Leadership MKE PAC nearly 10-1; pulls off upset

Wisconsin is Hiring! People-driven Organizations Launch Major Grassroots Effort to Shape 2018 Election and Race for Governor

Effective grassroots organizations coming together to build a government that works for the people of Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *