Press Release
Press Release

Milwaukee Arts Board recognizes Outstanding Artists of the Year

The Milwaukee Arts Board will honor the recipients of its Outstanding Artists of the Year award on Tuesday, March 12, 2013.

By - Mar 11th, 2013 02:24 pm

The Milwaukee Arts Board will honor the recipients of its Outstanding Artists of the Year award on Tuesday, March 12, 2013. Awards of $1,500 will be presented to Reginald Baylor, artist and owner of Reginald Baylor Studio, and Bill Theisen, artistic director of Skylight Music Theatre.

The awards program and reception will take place at the Broadway Theatre Center, 158 N. Broadway, and will begin at 5:00 p.m., after the regular Arts Board meeting at 4:30 p.m. Media coverage is invited.

Alderman Michael J. Murphy, chair of the Arts Board, said the board was pleased to recognize two talented, artistic individuals again this year. “Milwaukee is fortunate to have passionate people like Reggie and Bill, and we look forward to honoring their contributions to our city,” he said. “I’m proud to serve as chair of a board that recognizes the importance of the arts in this community. Support for the arts and artists is good for the economy, and the Milwaukee Arts Board and the artists it supports continue to prove that the creative community can spur economic growth in this city.”

Reginald Baylor, Artist and owner of Reginald Baylor Studio

In recent years, Mr. Baylor has become a visible cornerstone and innovator in the Milwaukee arts community. Several years ago, he opened a street-level studio in the Third Ward’s Marshall building, which has led to a resurgence of artists congregating in both the building and the area. In both 2007 and 2013, Baylor received a Joyce Foundation Award, and in 2010 he received a Wisconsin Arts Board Individual Artist Fellowship. His involvement and leadership in Plaid Tuba, a collective studio in the Marine Terminal building, has also helped to foster an expanding community of young and emerging artists, creative entrepreneurs and arts supporters. He is extremely invested in Milwaukee, taking note of its potential, making the conscious decision to call it his home and sharing his work here.

Bill Theisen, Artistic Director of Skylight Music Theatre

Mr. Theisen has served as artistic director of Skylight Music Theatre since 2004, where he made his debut as a performer in 1981. He has directed more than 100 productions of plays, musicals, revues, operas, and operettas for theatre and opera companies from coast to coast. He works frequently at the university level as a guest director and lecturer, and he is an adjudicator for arts programming on PBS. Although highly regarded and sought after as a director, performer, and educator the nation over, Bill has remained committed to Milwaukee, making it his artistic and physical home.

The Milwaukee Arts Board has recognized Artists of The Year since 1995. Past recipients include: Roy Staab, Antler, Debra Loewen, Richard Taylor, Yevgeniya Kaganovich, John Ruebartsch, Dinorah Marquez, C. Michael Wright, Lee Erickson, Ruth Schudson & Monty Davis, Sarah Price, Jason Yi, Marie Kohler, Ray Chi, JoAnna Poehlmann, Raoul Deal, Berkeley Fudge, Mark Bucher, Kevin Stalheim, Marina Lee Meyer, Ferne Yangyeitie Caulker, James & Rose Pickering, Reynaldo Hernandez, Jill Sebastian, Terese Agnew, and John Schneider.

For current arts news and opportunities, follow the Milwaukee Arts Board on Twitter at and like our Facebook page at

For More Information, Contact
Ald. Michael Murphy
(414) 286-3763

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. It has not been verified for its accuracy or completeness.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us