First Lady Kathy Evers
Press Release

First Lady Evers Announces the Wisconsin 19th Amendment Celebration Committee’s Next “Women Who Inspire” Nominee

Committee celebrates Sharlen Moore, Milwaukee

By - Aug 14th, 2020 07:01 am
Sharlen Moore. Photo from the State of Wisconsin.

Sharlen Moore. Photo from the State of Wisconsin.

MADISON — First Lady Kathy Evers today announced that “Women Who Inspire,” a program of the Committee to Celebrate the Centennial Anniversary of Wisconsin’s Ratification of the 19th Amendment, will highlight Sharlen Moore, co-founder and director of both Youth Justice Milwaukee and Urban Underground in Milwaukee.

“The Committee’s ‘Women Who Inspire’ feature allows us to celebrate the women who make our state stronger every day with their ambitious hard work, inspiring leadership, and dedication to building better communities,” said First Lady Evers who chairs the Committee. “These women are doing critical work to move our state forward, not unlike the Suffragists 100 years ago, so it is fitting that we recognize their good work as we celebrate this milestone.”

Ms. Moore was nominated by Debra Cronmiller, Executive Director, League of Women Voters of Wisconsin, as a woman who inspires us for her work advocating for alternatives to youth incarceration through Youth Justice Milwaukee, and through Urban Underground encouraging the next generation of leaders and supporting youth-led social justice campaigns in the areas of health, education, public safety, and juvenile justice reform. Ms. Moore was recommended to the state League by the League of Women Voters Milwaukee County.

“We have long admired Sharlen’s work in the Milwaukee community,” said Peggy Creer, President, LWV Milwaukee County. “We are proud to be able to work with her in engaging young people in important issues facing our city.”

Committee members were invited to nominate and interview women who inspire them to feature on the Committee website with the intent of inspiring a broad bipartisan audience and bringing more diversity in terms of race, ethnicity, age, geography, background, and identity to the women’s rights conversation. All nominees that will be featured on the website were submitted by members of the Committee and will be featured on a rotating basis leading up to the 100th anniversary of enactment of the 19th Amendment in August.

The website separately highlights notable Wisconsin social activists and trailblazers, such as Vel Phillips, Ada Deer, Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Belle Case LaFollette and others with links to outside resources. The 19th Amendment Committee was formed by Executive Order 19​ on April 11, 2019 and is comprised of Wisconsin’s women in elected and appointed state office and other women leaders and experts.

A photo of Sharlen Moore is available here.

One thought on “First Lady Evers Announces the Wisconsin 19th Amendment Celebration Committee’s Next “Women Who Inspire” Nominee”

  1. says:

    This recognition could not have gone to a more deserving community leader. Congrats Sharlen!

    Karen Coy-Romano, CFRE, MS
    Founder, Task Force on Criminal Justice Reform

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us