Historic church in Milwaukee’s Yankee Hill neighborhood.
The entire complex, which shares one taxkey, includes the church, attached hall and a bishop’s manse.
From the 1981 Landmarks Commission/Department of City Development report…
The Cathedral was designed by Edward Townsend Mix and erected in 1868-1869 for the Oilvet Congregational Church. When financial difficulties confronted Oilvet the building was sold to All Saints’ in 1873. The architecture is a stunning example of early Gothic Revival style and is the finest remaining example in Milwaukee. From it’s rectangular form rises a 190-foot-four-story tower. The exterior is virtually unchanged though the chancel was extended in 1908. the interior was remodeled slightly at the time of purchase with the addition of wood-paneled ceilings, chancel screens, stained glass windows, the present altar and the chancel triptych.
The Guild Hall-Cathedral Institute was erected in 1891 by Milwaukee architect William D. Kimball. It it a two-story, ivy-covered structure of Gothic Revival design and is connected to the Cathedral. It was built on the site of All Saints’ original chapel and school. The last building in the complex is the Bishop’s House, constructed in 1902-1903. Designed by the Milwaukee firm of Charles Kirchoff and Thomas Leslie Rose, it’s architecture is English Tudor of the early twentieth century.
ROW Excavation Non-Utility.