Council for Wisconsin Writers
Press Release

The Winners Are!

CWW Announces 2018 Wisconsin Writing Awards

By - Mar 29th, 2019 02:13 pm

Sixteen Wisconsin writers have won First Place and Honorable Mention awards in the Council for Wisconsin Writers contests for work published or produced in 2018.

The Council will award winners in seven contests $500 and a week-long writing residency at Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point. Honorable mentions will receive $50 and a residency at Painted Forest, Valton, WI. Winners of the CWW Young Writers Award will receive $250 for First Place and $50 for Honorable Mention. All contests are judged by out-of-state judges except for the Young Writers Award which is judged by members of the CWW board of directors.

In addition, the Council will honor a long-time Wisconsin author, poet, script writer, videographer and educator for her body of work with CWW’s Major Achievement Award.

Awards will be presented at the Council’s annual banquet to be held on May 11, 2019, at the Wisconsin Club in Milwaukee.

William Stobb of Onalaska is first-place winner of the Zona Gale Award for Short Fiction for “All the Bodies” published in North Dakota QuarterlyKathleen Giorgio of Waukesha receives honorable mention for “Quiet” published in moonShine Review.

Marilyn Annucci of Madison takes the Edna Meudt Poetry Book Award for The Arrows That Choose Us published by Press 53. Honorable mention goes to Denise Sweet of Green Bay for Palominos Near Tuba City: New and Selected Poems published by Holy Cow Press.

Christina Clancy of Madison is receiving the Kay W. Levin Short Nonfiction Award for “Lost Cause” published in The Sun MagazineJudith Steininger of Milwaukee is receiving honorable mention for “The Girl(s) From Montana” published in Montana Quarterly.

Patricia Sutton of Madison has won the Tofte/Wright Children’s Literary Award for Capsized published by Chicago Review Press. Stef Wade of Brookfield is receiving honorable mention for A Place for Pluto published by Capstone Editions.

Laura Jean Baker of Oshkosh has won the Norbert Blei/August Derleth Nonfiction Book Award for The Motherhood Affidavits: A Memoir published by The Experiment. Christy Wopot of Holmen receives honorable mention for Almost a Mother; Love, Loss and Finding Your People When Your Baby Dies published by Orange Hat Publishing.

Liam Callahan of Milwaukee has won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award for Paris by the Book published by DuttonHonorable mention goes to Tom Matthews of Wauwatosa for Raising the Dadpublished by St. Martin’s Press.

Kathryn Gahl of Appleton has won the Lorine Niedecker Poetry Award for five individual poems. Honorable mention goes to Eileen Mattmann of West Bend.

Elizabeth Stanfield of Ripon High School in Ripon is first-place winner of the CWW Young Writers Award for her poem “Hand-Me-Downs”. Emily Kadrich of Arrowhead High School in Hartland receives honorable mention for her short story “Never Again: August 28,1955”.

Kathleen Ernst of Middleton, author of nearly 40 novels and books of nonfiction and poetry for children and adults, and recipient of numerous awards is being recognized for her body of work with CWW’s Major Achievement Award.

The public is invited to celebrate our state’s fine writers at the CWW’s Awards Banquet at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 11, at the Wisconsin Club in Milwaukee. Banquet tickets must be reserved by Friday, May 3. In addition to a table for contest honorees to display copies of their winning works, a table will be available for CWW members to display samples and promotional material for their work.

More information about the winners, judges, banquet registration, and the Council for Wisconsin Writers can be found at its website,

Recent Press Releases by Council for Wisconsin Writers

Council for Wisconsin Writers

The Winners Are!

Council for Wisconsin Writers announce contest results for 2019 work

Council for Wisconsin Writers

Wisconsin Writers Awards Open November 1 with New Student Contest

The Council invites Wisconsin writers to submit work published in 2018.

Council for Wisconsin Writers

2017 Wisconsin Writers Awards Announced by Council for Wisconsin Writers

Awards will be presented at the Council’s annual banquet to be held this year on May 12 in Milwaukee.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us