Milwaukee Common Council
Press Release

New alcohol beverage license applicants: please make an appointment

The License Division has begun handling new alcohol beverage license applicants by appointment only.

By - Jun 22nd, 2012 03:55 pm

The License Division has begun handling new alcohol beverage license applicants by appointment only.

Effective Monday, June 18, the License Division changed its procedures so that individuals coming in for new alcohol beverage licenses must first make an appointment to meet with staff at the division’s office in room 105 at City Hall, 200 E. Wells St.

Deputy City Clerk Rebecca Grill, who also is manager of the License Division, said the change was made to make the application process more efficient for all involved. “Allowing people to come in without an appointment meant that, in many cases, important issues could not be addressed and key questions could also not be answered because applicants were not adequately prepared and/or did not have proper documentation,” Ms. Grill said. “And at times, that system caused frustration for everyone involved.”

“Making the change to an appointment only system means a more efficient use of time for the applicants, and for our staff members,” she said.

Those seeking to renew an existing alcohol beverage license do not need to make an appointment.

Mentioned in This Press Release

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Common Council

Help keep our community safe amid harsh winter weather

Joint statement from: Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderman Mark Borkowski, Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Common Council President José G. Pérez, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr. and Alderman Khalif J. Rainey 

Statement on the proposed closing of the Ascension St. Francis Hospital labor and delivery unit

From Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, and Common Council President José G. Pérez  

Likely criminal case looming against former deputy director of the Election Commission

Statement of Milwaukee Common Council members: Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs,  Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderman Mark A. Borkowski, Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Scott Spiker and Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us