Milwaukee Common Council
Press Release

Joint Statement on Death of Milwaukee Police Officer

From Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Khalif J. Rainey, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Mark A. Borkowski, Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, and Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II

By - Feb 7th, 2023 03:28 pm

We mourn with sadness, pain, and anger the loss of our fallen Milwaukee Police officer, killed in the line of duty early this morning during an interaction with a robbery suspect on the near south side.  As Common Council members we know well the deep sacrifices and dedicated service of the men and women of the Milwaukee Police Department, and we offer our heartfelt sympathies to the officer’s family and to each and every member of the Milwaukee Police Department family.

The officer we lost was assigned to District 4, but was assisting with activities on the other end of the city. This is not uncommon, as our officers are consistently working together to serve our entire city with selflessness and courage.

As we have seen before, the coming days will be very difficult and filled with grief, as we stand together to honor our fallen officer who showed such devotion to the City of Milwaukee. We will also stand with the entire Milwaukee Police Department in unity to offer our full support during this time of mourning.

We encourage the wider Milwaukee community to join with us in honoring the memory of our fallen officer while continuing to support one another during this painful time.

We also ask community members to pray for peace, for a stop to the normalization of gun carrying and/or gun culture, and for an end to senseless violence anywhere and everywhere in our city.

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. It has not been verified for its accuracy or completeness.

More about the 2023 MPD Officer Killing

Read more about 2023 MPD Officer Killing here

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Common Council

Diverse Common Council set to make history

Statement from members of the Common Council: Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderwoman Andrea M. Pratt, Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, Alderman Mark A. Borkowski, Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Scott Spiker, and Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic

Local 3rd Graders to Participate in December 12 Common Council Meeting

Youth were selected as winners of Alderperson for a Day Essay Contest

Statement on the Confirmation of Jezamil Arroyo-Vega as the Commissioner of Neighborhood Services

From members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderman Mark Borkowski, Alderman Lamont Westmoreland, Alderperson Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderwoman Andrea M. Pratt, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, and Alderman Khalif J. Rainey

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us