Gov. Scott Walker
Press Release

U.S. Department of Treasury Approves Governor Walker’s 120 Economic Opportunity Zone Designations

These zones cover more than 40 counties in rural, urban, and tribal areas.

By - Apr 9th, 2018 04:26 pm

MADISON – U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin today approved Governor Walker’s 120 Economic Opportunity Zone (EOZ) designations for Wisconsin. These zones cover more than 40 counties in rural, urban, and tribal areas and present an opportunity for private, tax-free investment into areas of economic need, benefiting residents living in the zones and private investors. EOZs were created in the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017.

“With our newly designated Economic Opportunity Zones, Wisconsin’s thriving businesses will have a new opportunity to invest in their neighbors and help our local communities,” said Governor Walker. “Right now, more people are employed in our state than ever before in our history, and Wisconsin is at near record lows for unemployment. These recommendations reach communities across our state – urban, rural, and tribal – that are positioned for strong and sustained growth.”

The Economic Opportunity Zones Program is a federal community development tax incentive program which encourages businesses and community members to invest in designated Economic Opportunity Zones. These investments will help communities in designated areas develop, and the return on the investment will have reduced tax liability. These designations represent ten years of potential investment into these communities.

Governor Walker submitted the maximum number of designations, 120, to the U.S. Department of Treasury. His designations were made based on recommendations from an interagency working group comprised of WHEDA, WEDC, DOA, and DCF; public comment; and an independent analysis conducted by a nationally respected consulting firm.

Attached is a full list of designated Economic Opportunity Zones.

Mentioned in This Press Release

Recent Press Releases by Gov. Scott Walker

Governor Walker Orders Flags to Half-Staff as a Mark of Respect for Captain Christopher Truman of the Lake Mills Fire Department

Captain Truman died on December 31, 2018, while selflessly assisting a driver of a crashed vehicle on Highway 12 near the Yahara River Bridge in Monona, Wisconsin.

Governor Walker Appoints St. Croix County Judge and Ashland County District Attorney

Governor Scott Walker today appointed Attorney Scott J. Nordstrand to serve as a judge on the St. Croix County Circuit Court and Attorney David Meany to the position of Ashland County District Attorney.

Governor Walker Orders Flags to Half-Staff as a Mark of Respect

Chilsen represented the 29th Senate District for six terms from 1967-1990

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us