Johnson Financial Group
Press Release

Racine Banker, Alvaro Araque, to Serve as Officer on Bankers Association Board


By - Jun 21st, 2022 02:26 pm
Alvaro Araque. Photo courtesy of Johnson Financial Group.

Alvaro Araque. Photo courtesy of Johnson Financial Group.

MADISON – Alvaro Araque, SVP, director of consumer and private banking at Johnson Financial Group in Racine, will serve as the 2022–2023 vice chair of the Wisconsin Bankers Association (WBA) Board of Directors.

The Wisconsin Bankers Association is the state’s largest financial industry trade association, representing more than 200 commercial banks and savings institutions, their branches, and over 35,000 employees.

“Al brings an outstanding level of expertise and dedication to the WBA Board,” said Rose Oswald Poels, WBA president and CEO. “We appreciate his work on behalf of Wisconsin’s banking industry.”

Araque joined Johnson Financial Group in 2021, bringing over two decades of banking experience with him. He earned his bachelor’s degree in economics and minor in studio art at Denison University in Granville, Ohio. Araque’s community involvement includes serving on the boards of the Penfield Children’s Center, Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee (HPGM), and Employ Milwaukee.

Also serving as officers on the WBA Board are: Chair Dan Peterson, president and CEO of The Stephenson National Bank & Trust, Marinette; Chair-Elect Donna Hoppenjan, president and CEO of Mound City Bank, Platteville; and Past Chair Ken Thompson, president and CEO, Capitol Bank, Madison.

Joining the board for three-year terms are Paul Hoffmann, president and CEO, Monona Bank; Ryan Kamphuis, president and CEO, Bristol Morgan Bank, Oakfield; Greg Lundberg, president and CEO, Fortifi Bank, Berlin; and Tom Mews, president, First National Community Bank, New Richmond.

Those continuing their terms on the board are: Jim Chatterton, president and CEO, National Exchange Bank & Trust, Fond du Lac; Jay Mack, president and CEO, Town Bank, N.A., Hartland; Paul Northway, president and CEO, American National Bank – Fox Cities, Appleton; Greg Ogren, president and CEO, Security Bank Shares, Inc., Iron River; Joe Peikert, president and CEO, Wolf River Community Bank, Hortonville; Jenny Provancher, CEO, The Equitable Bank, S.S.B., Wauwatosa; Dan Ravenscroft, president and CEO of Royal Bank, Elroy; and Terry Rosengarten, president and COO, Unity Bank, Augusta.

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. It has not been verified for its accuracy or completeness.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us