Radio Milwaukee
Press Release

Field Report Band Tops Field in 2014 Radio Milwaukee Music Awards

Best Milwaukee bands chosen by fans, station DJs and critics’ panel

By - Dec 5th, 2014 10:06 am

Milwaukee (Dec. 4, 2014) – Milwaukee music fans and critics named the band Field Report the top winner of 2014 Radio Milwaukee Music Awards on Thursday night at a live awards ceremony and concert at the station’s studio complex.
Fronted by singer and songwriter Chris Porterfield, Field Report was the only band to win multiple honors this year. The band won the Album of the Year and Critics’ Choice awards for its highly acclaimed sophomore record, “Marigold”; and was named Band of the Year.

“Milwaukee music exploded in 2014,” said Jordan Lee, Radio Milwaukee DJ and assistant program director. “Field Report broke out nationally, Sylvan Esso’s album was one of the most critically acclaimed freshman releases of the year and Volcano Choir toured the world. All this happening on the national scene, while here at home so many great bands are coming into their own and releasing great records. While the award results reflect our listeners’ favorites, there were no shortage of close calls on this year’s ballot. Milwaukee should be proud of what’s going on in our music scene.”

This year’s winners of the station’s annual awards were:

  • Band Of The Year: Field Report
  • Solo Artist Of The Year: Webster X
  • Album Of The Year: Field Report – “Marigolden”
  • Song Of The Year: GGOOLLDD – “Bling Ring”
  • Independent Release Of The Year: Bliss & Alice – “Poetry Volume 1”
  • Best Disc We Missed: Dead Horses – “Space and Time”
  • Music Video Of The Year: Kane Place Record Club – “Sunshine”
  • Album Artwork: Old Earth – “A Wake In The Wells”
  • Milwaukee Music Ambassador Award: Peter Jest, owner of Shank Hall
  • Critics’ Choice (Best Album): Field Report – “Marigolden”

A panel of 88Nine DJs and Milwaukee music critics selected winners. Milwaukee music fans nominated five finalists in an online poll in each category except Milwaukee Music Ambassador and Critics’ Choice. The Radio Milwaukee DJs chose the Music Ambassador.

The panel members were:

  • Marcus Doucette, Stephen Kallao, Jordan Lee, Tarik Moody, Dori Zori, Justin Barney, Nate Imig, Sarah Fierek, Kat Froehlich, Ken Sumka, Sean Demery – Radio Milwaukee
  • DJ Bizzon – WMSE-FM
  • Andrew Nelson – Pabst Theater Group
  • David Ravel – Alverno Presents
  • Evan Rytlewski – Shepherd Express
  • Bobby Tanzilo –
  • Matt Wild – Milwaukee Record

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony Thursday night at Radio Milwaukee’s studio complex, 220 E. Pittsburgh Ave. The event featured live sets from Webster X, The Delta Routine, GGOOLLDD, The Living Statues and DJ Strehlow.

Radio Milwaukee is an award-winning, nonprofit community-supported public radio station (88.9 WYMS-FM and Radio Milwaukee champions Milwaukee’s music, arts, culture, neighborhoods and community organizations; celebrates diversity; and encourages community engagement.

Mentioned in This Press Release

Recent Press Releases by Radio Milwaukee

88Nine Radio Milwaukee Names Nonprofit Leader Maggie Corry As Development Director

Corry holds a master of public administration-nonprofit management degree from New York University.

Top Milwaukee chefs and 88Nine DJs at SoundBites event blend gourmet creations with the perfect songs

Newest Milwaukee restaurants included in 88Nine Radio Milwaukee SoundBites fundraiser Feb. 9 at the Iron Horse Hotel

Radio Milwaukee Statement on Transition of Executive Director Mary Louise Mussoline

Mary Louise Mussoline, 88Nine Radio Milwaukee’s longtime Executive Director, has decided to leave the progressive, community-focused station in March 2016.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us