Common Council President Cavalier Johnson
Press Release

Common Council President Cavalier Johnson announces 2020-2024 committee assignments


By - Apr 28th, 2020 12:03 pm

Common Council President Cavalier Johnson today announced the committee assignments for the 2020-2024 Milwaukee Common Council class, including the seven members who will be tasked with chairing the council’s standing committees.

President Johnson said the wealth of experience and leadership styles offered by the Council’s 15 members provided him with no wrong options when deciding on committee assignments.

“My colleagues on the Council have unmatched passion and dedication when it comes to serving our shared community,” President Johnson said. “The challenges and opportunities facing our city will require creative, outcome-based strategies, and I believe the resulting committee assignments reflect the best alignment of everyone’s skillsets that will allow us as a body the ability to tackle the pressing health, economic, safety, financial and social issues in an effective manner.”

Alderman Michael J. Murphy will chair the Finance and Personnel committee which is charged with overseeing the city budget process and other financial matters. “Alderman Murphy has more than a decade’s worth of experience in this post, and with looming fiscal challenges facing Milwaukee from the City’s coronavirus response to a larger pension contribution, I know his extensive experience and leadership will serve the city well,” said President Johnson. The committee will be served by vice chair Alderman Scott Spiker.

President Johnson has tabbed Alderman Khalif J. Rainey to chair the Community and Economic Development Committee. “ An innovative alder who has worked with local and national partners to engage the community on issues such as health, financial literacy and civic engagement using hip-hop as the bridge,  Alderman Rainey will utilize his collaborative style to lead the Community and Economic Development Committee,” said President Johnson. First term Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa will serve as the committee’s vice chair.

The Licenses Committee will be chaired by Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs. “Arguably the most public facing committee, the quasi-judicial Licenses Committee will be led by Alderwoman Coggs who is a lawyer, true community servant and the most experienced member of this committee having served on it for more than 10 years,” said President Johnson. Vice chair of the committee will be Alderman Nik Kovac.

Alderman José G. Pérez will lead the Zoning and Neighborhood Development Committee. President Johnson remarked on the selection, “Alderman Perez has helped oversee countless development projects in his district and in particular the Walker’s Point neighborhood. In addition to having a past life in development and as a former employee with experience at the Department of City Development, I couldn’t think of a better choice to lead this committee.” Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs will serve as vice chair of the committee.

The Judiciary and Legislation Committee will be led by Alderman Ashanti Hamilton. “As Milwaukee residents continue to turn in responses to the 2020 Census, the Judiciary and Legislation Committee will turn its sights toward the important task of ensuring that our community’s representation is just, fair and diverse. Having led Milwaukee’s redistricting after the 2010 Census, there is no one more experienced than Alderman Hamilton to lead us through this process. A lawyer in his own right, Alderman Hamilton is also well equipped to lead the council’s response to ligation against the City,” said President Johnson. Alderwoman Nikiya Dodd will be the committee’s vice chair.

14th District Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic will serve as chair of the Public Safety and Health Committee. “A former chairwoman of the Milwaukee Board of Supervisors, the 2nd highest ranking elected official in Milwaukee County government, Alderwoman Dimitrijevic has experience leading an elected body and has shown the ability to lead with public health at the forefront. She will serve our city well in this position,” said President Johnson. Vice chair of the Public Safety and Health Committee will be Alderwoman Chantia Lewis.

Rounding out committee chairs, Alderman Robert J. Bauman will chair the Public Works Committee. Regarding the appointment President Johnson commented, “A true champion for public transit and public infrastructure improvements, Alderman Bauman will continue on in his service as chair of the Public Works Committee with nearly 15 years of experience in the post.” Alderman Mark A. Borkowski will serve as vice chair.

“The depth and breadth of experience on this Council is an embarrassment of riches,” Alderman Johnson continued. “I look forward to an engaging and productive term with my colleagues, and I know that all of the committees will produce outstanding results in the name of improving our city.”

Recent Press Releases by Common Council President Cavalier Johnson

Welcome Goodwill!

Statement of Common Council President Cavalier Johnson May 6, 2021

Club Midtown isn’t a thing

Statement of Common Council President Cavalier Johnson May 5, 2021

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us