Association for Women Lawyers
Press Release

Scholarship Winners Announced


By - Sep 8th, 2020 08:45 am
Seynabou Youm. Photo courtesy of the Association for Women Lawyers.

Seynabou Youm. Photo courtesy of the Association for Women Lawyers.

The Association for Women Lawyers (AWL) Foundation announces the recipients of its annual scholarships. This year’s winners include the recipient of the inaugural Shirley S. Abrahamson Scholarship, presented in honor of Wisconsin’s first female Supreme Court justice and her lengthy career on the court. The scholarship awards are presented as follows:

Shirley S. Abrahamson Scholarship

AWL Foundation Scholarships

Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarships

Now-retired Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson was the keynote speaker at the first AWL Women Judges’ Night in 1981, and she returned to speak at the popular legal event several times. Through the Shirley S. Abrahamson Scholarship, the AWL Foundation thanks her for her service to the state and her consistent support of AWL. Based on Justice Abrahamson’s input, criteria for the scholarship include demonstrated perseverance in the face of adversity, commitment to issues affecting women or children, and commitment to public service.

AWL and the AWL Foundation have awarded scholarships annually since 1997 to women attending Wisconsin’s law schools. Criteria for the AWL Foundation Scholarships include service to others, academic achievement, and unique life experience or circumstances. The Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship, honoring former AWL President and Deputy State Public Defender Virginia Pomeroy, requires additional legal service to the vulnerable or disadvantaged or in the areas of civil rights, appellate practice, public service, public policy, or public interest law.

The scholarships will be awarded at the AWL virtual Annual Meeting luncheon on Wednesday, September 30. The event is free and open to the public. Register on the AWL website. Biographies of the scholarship winners are available on the AWL website. Donations to the scholarship funds can be made there also. The AWL Foundation is a tax-exempt   501(c)(3) charitable organization.

AWL is a 460-member specialty bar association based in Milwaukee with the purpose of promoting the welfare, interests and professional development of lawyers who are women; promoting the legal interests of women generally; maintaining the honor and integrity of the legal profession; and advancing justice for all individuals. Membership is open to licensed attorneys and students currently enrolled in accredited law schools.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us