Milwaukee Film
Press Release

Milwaukee Film Festival Announces 2014 Jury Awards

The Tribe and New Planet take top honors

By - Oct 6th, 2014 06:58 am

MILWAUKEE – Monday, October 06, 2014 – The 6th Annual Milwaukee Film Festival, presented by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, eagerly announced its 2014 Jury Award Winners on Sunday, during a private filmmaker brunch. Awards were given out for both the Competition and Cream City Cinema Programs, including a Filmmaker-in-Residence Award. The yearlong residency includes a mentorship program, a $5,000 cash prize, and a production services package valued at more than $20,000. The Herzfeld Competition Award also comes with a $10,000 cash award. First time awards were also presented for short films in the Shorter Is Better and Rated K: For Kids programs.

“The quality of the films presented at this year’s festival was the strongest ever,” shared Artistic and Executive Director Jonathan Jackson. “Our juries faced some incredibly tough choices and ultimately recognized additional films beyond the four official awards.”

The Allan (H.) Bud and Suzanne L. Selig Audience Awards for Feature and Short Films will be announced at the conclusion of the festival.

Abele Catalyst Award
Marianne Lubar 

Herzfeld Competition Award ($10,000 cash)
The Tribe (dir. Miroslav Slaboshpitsky)
Cream City Cinema: Filmmaker-in-Residence ($5,000 cash and $20,000 production package)
New Planet (dir. James Tindell)

Cream City Cinema Special Jury Prize
An Evening at Angelo’s (dir. Kara Mulrooney)

Shorter Is Better Award ($1,000 cash)
Love. Love. Love. (dir. Sandhya Daisy Sundaram)

Shorter Is Better Special Jury Prizes
Through the Hawthorne (dirs. Anna Benner, Pia Borg, Gemma Burditt)
The Last Days of Peter Bergmann (dir. Ciaran Cassid)

Kids Choice Short Film Award
Sweet Love (dir. Albert Jan van Rees)

 Kids Choice Special Jury Awards
Wombo (dir. Daniel Acht)
The Numberlys (dirs. William Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg)

Pitch Us Your Doc! Contest Winner
King of Strings (dir. Joel Van Haren)


Herzfeld Competition Jury
David Fear, Rolling Stone
Theresa Scandiffio, Toronto International Film Festival
Mike Maggiore, Film Forum

Cream City Cinema Jury
Sam Adams, IndieWire
Justine Nagan, Kartemquin Films
Jim Brunzell III, Twin Cities Daily Planet

Shorter Is Better Jury
Dan Doody, Seattle International Film Festival
Jessica Farrell, Filmmaker
Spencer Gillis, Filmmaker

Rated K: For Kids Jury
Octavia Grimes
Piper Grimes
Quinn Hammerlund
Julian Singh
Tommy Stehr
Anna Weiss

Pitch Us Your Doc! Contest Judges
Kim Nguyen, War Witch
Michael Raisler, Cinereach, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Laurie Scheer, The Writer’s Advantage: A Toolkit for Mastering Your Genre

Tickets to the Milwaukee Film Festival are still available online (, by phone (414-727-8468), or in person at all four festival box office locations. For complete ticket information, visit The 2014 Milwaukee Film Festival runs September 25 – October 9, 2014 at the Landmark Oriental Theatre, Landmark Downer Theatre, Fox-Bay Cinema Grill and Times Cinema.

Mentioned in This Press Release

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Film

2019 Milwaukee Film Festival Dates Announced

Film submissions for the annual event are now being accepted

Milwaukee Film Announces Take A Seat Campaign

Allan H. (Bud) and Suzanne L. Selig launch a $1.5 million challenge match

Milwaukee Film

Netflix Star DeWanda Wise, Journalist Touré, and New York Times Editor Aisha Harris Headline Black Lens Events

The 2018 Milwaukee Film Festival will take place from October 18 - November 1.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us