Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
Campaign Cash

False Electors Were GOP Campaign Donors

Republican insiders accused of election fraud gave $14,000 to state candidates.

By - Feb 18th, 2021 03:11 pm
Cash. (CC0 Creative Commons).

Cash. (CC0 Creative Commons).

Eight of 10 GOP stalwarts accused of fraudulently certifying former President Donald Trump as the winner of Wisconsin’s 10 electoral votes have contributed nearly $14,000 since 2015 to legislative and statewide candidates.

A complaint over the incident was filed with the Wisconsin Elections Commission by Paul Sickel, a director of the Service Employees International Union’s Wisconsin State Council. The union also asked Milwaukee County District Attorney John Chisholm to investigate the matter.

The complaint accused the 10 Republicans of forgery and impersonating public officers, among other things, by creating and sending false documents to Congress and various state and federal officials in mid-December that claimed Trump had won Wisconsin. The goal was to persuade Congress to credit the wrong candidate when all of the electoral votes were tallied by Congress on Jan. 6, the complaint said.

Here are the 10 individuals named in the complaint and their campaign contributions to legislative and statewide candidates between Jan. 1, 2015 and Oct. 19, 2020:

Andrew Hitt, of Madison, chairman of the state Republican Party and a lawyer with Michael, Best and Friedrich, $6,250. The top recipient of his contributions was former GOP Gov. Scott Walker, $3,250. He also gave $1,000 each to Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Brian Hagedorn and past Supreme Court candidate Michael Screnock.

Robert Spindell, of Milwaukee, a GOP appointee to the Wisconsin Elections Commission and an executive with Gottesman Co. in Milwaukee, $3,300. His top recipient was former GOP Rep. Jim Ott, of Mequon, $600. Spindell also made contributions ranging from $50 to $250 each to several Republican legislative candidates and Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Bradley.

Bill Feehan, of La Crosse, chairman of the La Crosse County Republican Party, $2,575. The top recipient of Feehan’s contributions was GOP Sen. Julian Bradley, of Franklin, $1,000.

Edward Scott Grabins, of Verona, chairman of the Dane County Republican Party, $730. His top recipient was Sen. Julian Bradley, of Franklin, $200.

Carol Brunner, of Franklin, vice chairwoman of Wisconsin’s 1st District Republican Party of Wisconsin, $475. The top recipient of her contributions was GOP Rep. Ken Skowronski, of Franklin, $375.

Kelly Ruh, of De Pere, chairwoman of the 8th Congressional District Republican Party and a controller for Bay Industries in Green Bay, $250, which was a single contribution to past GOP Assembly candidate Dean Raasch.

Darryl Carlson, of Sheboygan, a former GOP Assembly candidate, $181, which was a single contribution to former Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Dan Kelly.

Pam Travis, of Neillsville, treasurer of the Wisconsin Federation of Republican Women, $100, which was a single contribution to former GOP Sen. Tom Tiffany.

Kathy Kiernan, chairwoman of the 5th Congressional District GOP, $0.

Mary Buestrin, of Mequon, a Republican National Committee member, $0.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us