Tom Strini

The 2009 Nohl Fellowship winners

By - Nov 10th, 2009 03:30 pm
Get a daily rundown of the top stories on Urban Milwaukee

Peter Barrickman and Harvey Opgenorth are the winners of the 2009 Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships in the Established Artists category. The fund will grant each artist $15,000.

The winners of the $5,000 Emerging Artists fellowships are Kim Miller and John Riepenhoff.

All four artists will show the work they produce in their fellowship year at an exhibition in the autumn of 2010.


Work by Peter Barrickman.

Barrickman, who was born in Arizona in 1971, studied fimmaking at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee as an undergraduate and went on to a master’s degree in painting at Bard College, in New York. He has shown his work widely in North America and Europe. Barrickman was a Nohl Emerging Artist in 2003. Stated interests and concerns: combining painting and collage techniques, snapshot photography, folksy illustration, abstraction and figuration, growth, frenzy, solitude and indoor living.


Harvey Opgenorth’s painting with camouflage shirt.

Opgenorth is a founding member of The Rust Spot artists’ collaborative in Milwaukee, and he is the “fourth corner of the White Box Painters.” Opgenorth received a BFA in painting and sculpture at MIAD in 1999. He has shown all over the U.S. and in Finland and Spain. Stated interests and concerns: Sensory and cultural perceptions, camouflage, high visibility, mundane objects, visual puns, social behaviors, possible ways of seeing.

Miller, a video artist, holds a BFA from Cooper Union, New York, and an MFa from Vermont College. She has shown at Woodland Pattern in Milwaukee and in New York, Helsinki and Bangkok. Stated interests and concerns: employing dance, stand-up comedy, theater and multiple modes of address to “destabilize the subject and call a ‘you’ into being.”

Still from Kim Miller's Quincy Jones Experience.

Still from Kim Miller’s Quincy Jones Experience.

Riepenhoff runs the Green Galleries, East and West, in Milwaukee. He has shown here and in Tokyo, Los Angeles, Miami and Oak Park, Ill., among other places. Stated interests and concerns: art as a social and conceptual intersection, using art objects to raise questions about the contemporary art environment, social-conceptual experiments.

The jurors were Jennie C. Jones, a Brooklyn-based artist; Toby Kamps, senior curator at Contemporary Arts Museum Houston; and Barbara Wiesen, director and curator of the McAninch Arts Center at the College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, Ill. They were in Milwaukee Oct. 29-31 to review submissions and visit the studios of the finalists.

Finalists in the Established category were Paul Druecke, Richard Knight, Julie Murray and Roy Staab. In the Emerging category they were Mark Brautigam, Lisa Hecht, Jon Horvath, Steve Hough, Yevgeniya Kaganovich, Sarah Kail Luther, Annushka Peck and Shane Walsh.

John Riepenhoff's Art Stand.

John Riepenhoff’s Art Stand.



The Greater Milwaukee Foundation houses the Nohl Fund, and the UWM Peck School of the Arts administers the fellowships, houses the exhibition at its Inova Galleries and oversees printing and distribution of the exhibition catalogs, which are distributed nationally.

Work by the 2009 Nohl winners is on exhibit through Dec. 13 at the UWM Inova Gallery at the Kenilworth Building, 2155 N. Prospect Ave. For more about that exhibition, click here.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us