Medical Society of Milwaukee County
Press Release

Medical Society of Milwaukee Announces 2017 Award Winners

Health Commissioner Bevan K. Baker among recipients; Annual event proceeds to benefit Meta House

By - Jan 25th, 2017 10:46 pm
Bevan K. Baker.

Bevan K. Baker.

MILWAUKEE, WI (January 25, 2017) – The Medical Society of Milwaukee County (MSMC) an organization representing nearly 3,500 physicians and medical students across the Milwaukee community, today announced its annual award winners, selected by MSMC’s board of directors. The winners will be recognized on March 4, 2017 during the Medical Society of Milwaukee annual awards dinner event, taking place this year at Harley Davidson Museum.

The award categories and winners are:

Health Care Champion Award
Bevan K. Baker, Commissioner of Health, City of Milwaukee Health Department
The Health Care Champion Award will be presented to Commissioner Bevan Baker for his leadership in establishing strong partnerships which promote the health and well-being of Milwaukee residents. Commissioner Baker shares the Medical Society of Milwaukee’s passion to lead on issues such as prescription drug safety, childhood immunizations, infant mortality/safe sleep, and healthy, safe neighborhoods. He is a thoughtful, inspirational leader who improves the quality of life for individuals and families in our community each and every day.

Community Impact Award
Dr. Michael McNett, Medical Director for Chronic Pain, Aurora Health Care
The Medical Society will present the Community Impact Award to Dr. Michael McNett for his exemplary leadership in advancing knowledge, awareness, education and legislation around prescription drug safety both locally and at the State level. He is without question, an influential leader in his field, who with courage, passion, integrity and vision continually devotes himself to turning obstacles into opportunities.

Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Anne Martinelli, OB/BYN, St. Francis Hospital – Ascension
The Medical Society will present the Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Anne Martinelli for her selfless commitment to the underserved, both here and abroad, as well as for her dedication to serving the homeless, victims and survivors of abuse, and vulnerable women and infants. Dr. Martinelli symbolizes servant leadership in standing up for those whose voices may not otherwise be heard. And, with care and compassion, and without hesitation, she services those who some may consider undesirable patients.

Medical Student Leader Award
Anupriya Dayal, Medical College of Wisconsin
The Medical Society will present the Medical Student Leader Award to Anupriya Dayal for demonstrating the breadth and depth of her academic career through the significant leadership role she served in collaborating with Dr. George “Chip” Morris on the 2016 Prescription Drug Take Back Day Community Survey, as well as for her ongoing engagement on the Wisconsin Medical Society Opioid Task Force. Dayal is an inspirational leader who is, and will continue to improve the quality of life for individuals in our community.

“These award recipients lead by example,” says Kathy Schmitz, Executive Director of the Medical Society of Milwaukee County. “Their public health approach to addressing the greatest needs of our community is not only saving lives, it is improving the health of our entire community. These individuals’ dedication to their work is an inspiration to our physicians and our community. The society is thrilled to recognize them at this year’s event.”

The society’s annual awards program, presented by the Medical Society of Milwaukee Foundation will give the public an opportunity to join the organization in honoring and recognizing the award recipients.

A portion of proceeds from this year’s dinner will support Meta House, an organization that helps women in our community reclaim their lives from drug and alcohol addiction and rebuild their families.

More than 250 physicians, medical students, business and community leaders will attend the event and enjoy a reception beginning at 5 p.m., featuring museum tours, activities, lively jazz, blues and R&B from the Midwest’s favorite Eddie Butt’s Band, a cash bar and more. Dinner and program will begin at 7 p.m. followed by more live music and dancing.  Evening attire is “dressy casual” so guests can wear their favorite jeans!

Sponsorships are still being accepted and interested individuals may register for the awards dinner online at  Interested organizations and individuals are encouraged to register soon as this year’s event will sell-out.  This event sold out in 2015 and 2016.

For more information on this year’s event, contact Katy Glodosky at 920-627-2619.

About the Medical Society
Established in 1846, the Medical Society of Milwaukee County is an organization of physicians that provides leadership on critical health issues, such as prescription drug safety, to improve the overall health status of the community. We believe physicians have a profound impact on our community, inspiring hope and healing. The Medical Society of Milwaukee County is powered by the wisdom and expertise of its physician members. From families with young children to seniors who have lived generations, the healthcare needs of Milwaukee’s diverse community compel our work at the Medical Society of Milwaukee.

Recent Press Releases by Medical Society of Milwaukee County

Medical Society of Milwaukee Welcomes Representative Patrick J. Kennedy to Milwaukee During National Recovery Month

Medical Society and partners hope to create greater awareness of prescription opioid abuse epidemic through the words of Kennedy, whose family has lived through addiction, mental illness and recovery.

Medical Society of Milwaukee County Announces DR. Brian Peterson as Board President

Dr. Brian Peterson, Milwaukee County Chief Medical Examiner takes lead on Medical Society’s Prescription Narcotic Abuse initiative during 2016 term.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us