Milwaukee Common Council
Press Release

Make plans to attend the MKE Virtual Collaborative Urban Investment Town Hall Meeting

Statement of Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderman Ashanti Hamilton, Alderwoman Chantia Lewis, Alderwoman Nikiya Dodd, Alderman Khalif J. Rainey, and Alderman Cavalier Johnson

By - May 10th, 2021 06:37 pm

Next Monday (May 17) we ask that you please join an important virtual public meeting to help prioritize inner city targets for investment and rebuilding as the City of Milwaukee begins planning on how to spend the massive $406 million federal payment as part of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA).

The public is invited to join the MKE Virtual Collaborative Urban Investment Town Hall Meeting at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, May 17th. The link to join is here:

We will be co-hosting the meeting, which will also include staff from the city Budget Office.

The ARPA funding is a once-in-a-generation opportunity to address some important needs, deficiencies, and overdue investments in the community. Together on May 17th we can have a collaborative conversation about prioritizing where and how the funds should be expended for the betterment of urban Milwaukee.

Please make plans to join us – YOUR INPUT IS CRITICAL!

Additionally, time is of the essence as the city will receive half of the $406 million ARPA payment tomorrow – Tuesday, May 11th.

A public survey is being created by the city Department of Administration and the City Clerk’s Office to gauge citizens’ opinions and preferences on how to best spend the city’s ARPA funds. That online survey is expected to be ready soon, and we strongly encourage you to take a few minutes to fill it out.

Please go to to view the just released federal guidelines on use of ARPA funds.

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. It has not been verified for its accuracy or completeness.

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Common Council

Local 3rd Graders to Participate in December 12 Common Council Meeting

Youth were selected as winners of Alderperson for a Day Essay Contest

Statement on the Confirmation of Jezamil Arroyo-Vega as the Commissioner of Neighborhood Services

From members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderman Mark Borkowski, Alderman Lamont Westmoreland, Alderperson Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderman Scott Spiker, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderwoman Andrea M. Pratt, Alderman Michael J. Murphy, Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, and Alderman Khalif J. Rainey

Statement on verdict in Joel Acevedo homicide trial

Joint statement from Milwaukee Common Council Members: Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Lamont Westmoreland, Alderman Khalif J. Rainey, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderman Mark A. Borkowski, Alderman Scott Spiker, and Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us