Milwaukee Common Council
Press Release

Joint Statement on SCOTUS college admissions ruling

From all members of the Milwaukee Common Council: Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic, and Russell W. Stamper, II

By - Jun 30th, 2023 11:00 am

Yesterday, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that race-based admissions to colleges and universities violates the 14th amendment, essentially closing the door on decades of progress in educational attainment for students from underrepresented minority communities.

We view the ruling as a VERY devastating one that will age poorly in the annals of American history.

Affirmative action in admissions has been one of the key tools used to level the playing field for individuals with great minds and big dreams, who might not otherwise be able to pursue their goals in higher education.

Millions who have benefitted from these admission policies have risen to the highest levels of U.S. leadership in government, academia, politics, law, science, engineering, business, and medicine, to name just a few. They not only proved that they belong, they excelled against the odds to make great contributions to our nation and to make our communities forever better.

We are greatly disappointed in the SCOTUS ruling, and we hope one day soon it is reversed.

NOTE: This press release was submitted to Urban Milwaukee and was not written by an Urban Milwaukee writer. While it is believed to be reliable, Urban Milwaukee does not guarantee its accuracy or completeness.

Recent Press Releases by Milwaukee Common Council

Statement on proposed state task force on missing/murdered African American women and girls

Statement of Milwaukee Common Council members: Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II, Alderwoman Andrea M. Pratt, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderman Lamont Westmoreland, Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs,  Alderman DiAndre Jackson, Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, Alderwoman Sharlen P. Moore, Alderman Peter Burgelis, Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Scott Spiker, and Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic

Diverse Common Council set to make history

Statement from members of the Common Council: Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs, Alderman Mark Chambers, Jr., Alderwoman Andrea M. Pratt, Alderman Jonathan Brostoff, Alderman Robert J. Bauman, Alderwoman Larresa Taylor, Alderman Mark A. Borkowski, Alderman José G. Pérez, Alderman Scott Spiker, and Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic

Local 3rd Graders to Participate in December 12 Common Council Meeting

Youth were selected as winners of Alderperson for a Day Essay Contest

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us