Howie Goldklang

You Can Help Save FILM WI Tax Incentives WED 4/29 – Thurs 4/30 @ 11am – CALL NOW!

By - Apr 29th, 2009 03:35 pm
Get a daily rundown of the top stories on Urban Milwaukee
Want your voice to be heard and do your part to help save the Film WI Tax Incentives?  Call Your State Senator Today!  This is a rare opportunity to help a filmmaker and call a State Senator in your underwear at the same time!  Think about it.  Its like Halley’s Comet.  Read on and call ASAP!

Cultural Alliance of Greater Milwaukee
April 29, 2009

Forwarding this important information on behalf of Arts Wisconsin.

Please CALL Joint Finance Committee members today to urge their support of the film industry tax incentives!

The Joint Finance Committee will meet in Executive Session on Thursday, April 30, beginning at 11 am in Room 412 East of the State Capitol.  The Committee will be considering and voting on the improved film industry tax incentives package put forth by Rep. Tamara Grigsby (D-Milwaukee).

TODAY IS THE DAY to ensure that funding for the incentives is included in the 2009-2011 state budget.  You can help make this happen by taking action RIGHT NOW.  If your legislator is a Joint Finance Committee member – the list is below – please CALL with this message:

“I am a constituent of Sen. /Rep. Smith and I want him/her to support and vote for the improved film industry tax incentives proposal at the April 30 Joint Finance Committee Executive Session.  His/her support will help create jobs in the district and across the state, and is greatly appreciated!”

You can tell this message to the staff member who answers the phone; the staff member will ask for your name and address, to make sure you are a constituent.

If each of the 16 members of the Committee receives 10 phone calls today, they will know that there is support in their district and statewide.

Don’t delay!  Call now!  Legislative offices are usually open until 5 pm, but if you get the voicemail, you can leave a message.  Make sure to include your name and address.

More information is at

If you have any questions, please contact Arts Wisconsin at 608 255 8316

Joint Finance Committee

Senate Members :

Sen. Mark Miller, D-Monona, Co-Chair, 16th District, (608) 266-9170

Sen. Alberta Darling, R-River Hills, 8th District,, 608 266 5830

Sen. Dave Hansen, D-Green Bay, 30th District,, 608 266 5670

Sen. Julie Lassa, D-Stevens Point, 24th District,, 608 266 3123

Sen. John Lehman, D-Racine, 21st District,, 608 266 1832

Sen. Luther Olsen, R-Ripon, 14th District,, 608 266 0751

Sen. Judy Robson, D-Beloit, 15th District,, 608 266 2253

Sen.Lena Taylor, D-Milwaukee, 4th District,, 608 266 5810

Assembly members:
Rep. Mark Pocan, D- Madison, 78th District, Co-Chair, (608) 266-8570

Rep. Pedro Colón, D-Milwaukee, 8th District,, 608 267 7669

Rep. Tamara Grigsby, D-Milwaukee, 18th District,, 608 266 0635

Rep. Cory Mason, D-Racine, 62nd District,, 608 266 0634

Rep. Phil Montgomery, R-Green Bay, 4th District,, 608 266 5840

Rep. Jennifer Shilling, D-LaCrosse, 95th District,, 608 266 5780

Rep. Gary Sherman, D-Port Wing, 94th District,, 608 266 7690

Rep. Robin Vos, R-Racine, 63rd District,, 608 266 9171

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us