Greater Milwaukee Committee
Press Release

Northwestern Mutual to receive fourth annual Mary Ellen Stanek Award

Award honoring diversity in corporate governance given by Greater Milwaukee Committee & Milwaukee Women inc.

By - Feb 3rd, 2016 09:36 am

MILWAUKEE, February 3, 2016 – The Greater Milwaukee Committee (GMC), in conjunction with Milwaukee Women inc (MWi), will bestow the fourth annual Mary Ellen Stanek Award for Diversity in Corporate Governance to Northwestern Mutual at the GMC annual meeting on Monday, February 8th, from noon-1:30 p.m. at the University Club of Milwaukee.

The Mary Ellen Stanek Award, established in 2013, is given to an individual or entity exhibiting leadership, influence and impact resulting in increased diversity on corporate boards in our region. The inaugural award was given to its namesake, Mary Ellen Stanek, and subsequent winners include ManpowerGroup’s retired Chairman Jeff Joerres and Wisconsin Energy Corporation Chairman and CEO Gale Klappa.

“Northwestern Mutual’s commitment to diversity is evidenced by their outcomes and their efforts,” said GMC president Julia Taylor. “Northwestern Mutual’s Tower and Commons project is involving Milwaukee residents for more than 40% of the hours worked on the project. The building project also supports supplier diversity, encouraging emerging minority-owned and disadvantaged businesses to help provide the products and services the enterprise needs. This is a huge priority for the GMC as well, and we appreciate working in tandem with Northwestern Mutual on supplier diversity efforts.”

Northwestern Mutual focuses on diversity at all levels. The company works to attract diverse talent through its Howard University Partnership, and supports mentoring opportunities for students at Washington High School of Information Technology. It has earned recognition as a leading employer, making the list of “Top 100 Employers for the Class of 2012” by Diversity Employers magazine.

“Northwestern Mutual’s Diversity and Inclusion corporate committee includes senior executives and key leaders,” said Milwaukee Women inc Chair Phyllis King. “This clearly shows their strong commitment to fostering diversity in the workplace and in corporate governance.”

Nominees for the Mary Ellen Stanek Award are reviewed on an annual basis by MWi and the GMC Future Workforce Committee, and the award is announced and granted to the recipient at a GMC membership meeting.

The Greater Milwaukee Committee comprises 200 passionate CEOs who work together to make Milwaukee the best place to live, learn, work and play. Currently led by President Julia Taylor and Chair Ted Kellner, the GMC creates new ideas and implements solutions in innovation and talent, economic prosperity and vibrancy of place. For more information, please visit

Milwaukee Women inc is a nonprofit organization working to increase the number of women corporate directors and executive officers. The group carries out annual research and produces an annual report on the gender diversity of the boards and C-suites of Wisconsin’s 50 largest public and private companies. MWi promotes awareness on the benefits of gender diversity and offers educational programs to increase the number of qualified women board candidates. For more information, please visit

Recent Press Releases by Greater Milwaukee Committee - Page 2

Greater Milwaukee Committee

Marquette University President Michael R. Lovell Named Co-Chair of Innovation in Milwaukee (MiKE)

Academic representation key to leadership team in supporting innovation, collaboration

Greater Milwaukee Committee

Greater Milwaukee Committee Hires New Innovation in Milwaukee (MiKE) Executive Director

Former UWM Chancellor’s designee for entrepreneurship & innovation will lead innovation initiative

Greater Milwaukee Committee

Creational Trails Announces Programming Series

Installations and programming along West Wisconsin Ave. & Beerline Trail to enact creative placemaking

Flying Car 2014 to Feature Keynote Steve Wozniak

2nd annual Flying Car event to take place June 25-27 with speakers and hands-on labs

Greater Milwaukee Committee

ManpowerGroup Chairman & CEO Jeffrey Joerres to receive second annual Mary Ellen Stanek Award

Award honoring diversity in corporate governance given by Greater Milwaukee Committee & Milwaukee Women inc.

Greater Milwaukee Committee

Greater Milwaukee Committee’s Teachtown MKE launches crowdfunding campaign

Educational initiative to use crowdfunding to make teacher’s classroom dreams come true

Greater Milwaukee Committee

Community Coalition Announces Support for Legislation to Reform Milwaukee County Governance

Reform would protect critical quality of life services, empower citizen legislators and give voters a direct voice in how they wish to be represented.

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us