88.9 RadioMilwaukee announces winners of Milwaukee Music Awards

By - Feb 27th, 2008 02:52 pm
Get a daily rundown of the top stories on Urban Milwaukee

Local music artists Element with J. Todd and Paul Cebar won top honors Tuesday in 88Nine RadioMilwaukee’s first annual Milwaukee Music Awards, which recognize the best of Milwaukee-area music in 18 different categories. The song “Bombs Away,” by hip-hop artists Element and J. Todd, was named Song of the Year in the awards’ urban category, and R&B/world music bandleader Paul Cebar’s song “Her New Church” won Song of the Year in the pop/rock category.

Other top awards included Element’s Life is a Heist as Album of the Year (Urban) and Fever Marlene’s Civil War as Album of the Year (Pop/Rock). The station honored Adi Mack (of the band Growing Nation) as Vocalist of the Year (Urban) and Scott Starr (of Fever Marlene) as Vocalist of the Year (Pop/Rock).

RadioMilwaukee announced the Milwaukee Music Awards winners on the first anniversary of the station’s new format. The station launched the new format on February 26, 2007.

The seasoned music staff of RadioMilwaukee, which has been featuring local artists heavily since the new format began, chose most of the winners. More than 1,000 area music fans also selected Listener Choice Awards winners in several categories by voting online.

Winners of the Milwaukee Music Awards are as listed below:

Song of the Year (Urban) – “Bombs Away,” Element with J Todd
Song of the Year (Pop/Rock) “Her New Church,” Paul Cebar
Album of the Year (Urban) – Life is a Heist, Element
Album of the Year (Pop/Rock) – Civil War, Fever Marlene
Vocalist of the Year (Urban) – Adi Mack (of Growing Nation)
Vocalist of the Year (Pop/Rock) – Scott Starr (of Fever Marlene)
Best New Artist – Leo Minor
414 Music Award (in-studio performance of the year) – Ali Lubbad & The Desert Sound Ensemble
TNT Award (artist most likely to blow up nationally) – Northern Room
Kick-Ass Guitar Riff of the Year – “Can U Dig It?” Certain Stars
Earwig Award (catchiest single song of the year) – “Losin’ My Mind,” ShutDemDown Productions
Album Cover of the Year – Dance Casador! The Championship
Best Band Name – Dark Horse Project

Winners of the Listener Choice Awards:
Artist of the Year (Pop/Rock) – Northern Room
Artist of the Year (Urban) – Element
Live Performer of the Year (Urban) – De La Buena
Live Performer of the Year (Pop/Rock) – Northern Room
Club DJ of the Year – Old Man Malcolm

Listeners are invited to the station’s anniversary party from 8 p.m. to close on Saturday, March 8 at Moct, 240 E. Pittsburgh Ave. Four local DJs will spin records, and station disc jockeys will attend.
Admission is $10, with all proceeds going to RadioMilwaukee.

VITAL congratulates 88.9 RadioMilwaukee on a great first year!

Categories: VITAL

Leave a Reply

You must be an Urban Milwaukee member to leave a comment. Membership, which includes a host of perks, including an ad-free website, tickets to marquee events like Summerfest, the Wisconsin State Fair and the Florentine Opera, a better photo browser and access to members-only, behind-the-scenes tours, starts at $9/month. Learn more.

Join now and cancel anytime.

If you are an existing member, sign-in to leave a comment.

Have questions? Need to report an error? Contact Us