

P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

January 22st, 2025

City of Milwaukee - City Hall 200 E. Wells Street Room 705 Milwaukee, WI 53202

Dear Milwaukee Fire & Police Commission Members,

We, the undersigned members of the Wisconsin State Legislature, respectfully ask that you reconsider your recent decision to not promote Milwaukee Police Department (MPD) Officer Jason Daering to the rank of Sergeant.

Officer Daering is well-respected amongst his fellow officers and has proven to be a high performing officer in the department. He is considered by many to be a "cop's cop" who protects his community with the utmost professionalism and integrity. He passed the rigorous vetting process and received recommendations for promotion, not only from MPD Chief Jeffery Norman, but by the MPD Internal Affairs Division. Additionally, Officer Daering has been previously recognized for his distinguished service including the Medal of Valor for his actions in the line of duty. We should be rewarding and recognizing his commitment to proactive policing at a time when the City of Milwaukee desperately needs proactive officers. Officer Daering's record and recommendations indicate he has earned this promotion.

In regards to the above points, we respectfully ask you to reevaluate and reconsider your decision. Failure to do so will have an adverse impact on the already low morale of MPD.

Respectfully,

Bob Donovan

Barb Dittrich

State Representative 61st Assembly District

State Representative 99th Assembly District

Cindi Duchow

Circle Duckon

State Representative 97th Assembly District

Amanda Nedweski

State Representative 32nd Assembly District

Dan Knodl

State Representative 24th Assembly District

Dave Maxey

State Representative 83rd Assembly District

Robert Wittke

State Representative 63rd Assembly District

Todd Novak

State Representative 51st Assembly District

Rick Gundrum

State Representative 58th Assembly District

Jim Piwowarczyk

State Representative 98th Assembly District

Jerry O'Connor

State Representative 60th Assembly District

eny Olonnar

Paul Melotik

State Representative 22nd Assembly District

Jessie Rodriguez

State Representative 21st Assembly District

Van Wanggaard

State Senator

21st State Senate District

Julian Bradley

State Senator 28th State Senate District

M. Julin Bradley